Hay Park School receives special visit

06 Mar 2013

The students at Hay Park School got an exciting treat today when Blues players George Moala, Bryn Hall and Lolagi Visinia joined in their rugby skills session.

The small Mt Roskill school had been buzzing in the lead up to the visit and principal Margaret Aikman said it was a great afternoon for all the students.

“There has been huge excitement all week – all our students wanted to take part.”

These players are powerful role models and it’s great for the students to be able to connect with these young men who are so successful at what they do,” said Aikman.

Sport co-ordinator Connie Igasan said the opportunity for the students to learn and develop their skills from some of the best would be something they will never forget.

The players led a variety of passing and tackling drills before a fun game of bull rush to end the session.

Halfback Bryn Hall said it is always good fun to get out to visit local schools and meet young fans.

“It was a great group of kids to work with at Hay Park – they were all pretty talented but hopefully we were able to teach them a little something for their upcoming season,” said Hall.

While only a group of 35 students took part in the session, the whole school came out to watch during their lunch break. Some of the Year One students even presented the players with drawings they had done in class.

ROUND 1

18

Blues v
Chiefs

Sat 14 Feb 2015
7:35pm

23

27

Stormers v
Blues

Sun 22 Feb 2015
4:05am

16

25

Cheetahs v
Blues

Sat 28 Feb 2015
6:10am

24

10

Blues v
Lions

Sat 7 Mar 2015
7:35pm

13

30

Hurricanes v
Blues

Fri 13 Mar 2015
7:35pm

23

23

Waratahs v
Blues

Sat 28 Mar 2015
9:40pm

11

23

Chiefs v
Blues

Sat 4 Apr 2015
7:35pm

16

16

Blues v
Brumbies

Fri 10 Apr 2015
7:35pm

14

30

Highlanders v
Blues

Sat 18 Apr 2015
7:35pm

24

29

Crusaders v
Blues

Sat 25 Apr 2015
7:35pm

15

41

Blues v
Force

Sat 2 May 2015
5:30pm

24

42

Rebels v
Blues

Fri 8 May 2015
9:40pm

22

23

Blues v
Bulls

Fri 15 May 2015
7:35pm

18

5

Blues v
Hurricanes

Sat 23 May 2015
7:35pm

29

11

Blues v
Crusaders

Sat 6 Jun 2015
7:35pm

34

7

Blues v
Highlanders

Fri 12 Jun 2015
7:35pm

44

Facebook

Twitter